Today my roommate (Brent) and I decided to take our other roommate's (Phil) dog to the beach because it was such a beautiful day. The dog's name is "Fry."
Everything was going well. Having already completed my run; I was tending to Fry while Brent was off jogging. We went for a walk along the lagoon and chased some seagulls. After being unsuccessful in our seagull hunting (we caught zero) we headed back towards the beach. On the way we waved hello to a friend who was out walking her dogs. We didn't stop to chat we just went on our way making tracks in the sand.
The leash tightened as we were walking and I quickly turn around to tell Fry to come on. When I turned around I was horrified. Fry was squatting over dropping a big dog load right in the middle of a public beach like it was his own sandbox. "Fry no! No Fry!" It didn't work. I immediately turn to see if anyone is around, especially somebody that might know me. The beach is basically empty around us except that the one person who is in line of sight happens to be someone I know - the person I had just waved to. I am 98% sure she didn't see what Fry had done, but I can't be totally confident in that assessment.
I have a rule that I've lived by for several years. I do not pickup after dogs under any circumstance. It is ridiculous the way people treat their dogs here in Los Angeles. They have their own diamond collars, fancy dog houses, they get taken to high-end dog palaces for massages and grooming. If aliens were to look down on us with our dogs they would see quadrupeds with ropes leading around humans following them around picking up their poop. Aliens would think dogs are kings and we their servants. Not on my watch!
I carry no poop bags with me when I walk dogs because I have no intent on picking up excrement from anything.
I'm pretty sure I escaped without anyone seeing me. However, even if I did not. Even if 100 people saw me I stand firm in my beliefs. I will not pick up poop from a dog. I walked away like nothing happened. Later Brent suggested I cover the poop with sand. I temporarily considered that, but I did not want to spend another second at the scene of the crime.
To all people that use and enjoy Playa del Rey beach with their friends and family: I sincerely apologize. If there were some way that I could correct this situation [without picking up fresh feces] I would gladly do it. But unfortunately, there is no way to to make this right. I stand by my principles, but I do offer apologies to everyone. I feel bad for the person or people that will inevitably come across it, but I have not and will not pick up after a dog.
If you are looking for someone to blame....here is the real culprit! Do with him what you must - he is not my dog!
No comments:
Post a Comment